Press "Enter" to skip to content

OSBA Southwest Region to host spring conference

via Highland County Press |

More than 200 public school board members, administrators, staff, students and guests from across southwestern Ohio are expected to participate in the March 10 Ohio School Boards Association (OSBA) Southwest Region Spring Conference. The event will be held at the Warren County Career Center. 

The Southwest Region 2020 President’s Award will be presented to Harold Dexter Carpenter, a coach and custodian at Northwest Local Schools in Hamilton County. The award recognizes an individual for outstanding contributions to students and public education in the Southwest Region.

A special recognition will go to the 2020 Ohio Teacher of the Year Leila Kubesch, an educator at Norwood City Schools. Kubesch’s school district is in OSBA’s Southwest region.

Middletown City Schools’ Middletown High School Jazz Band, directed by David Leisten is scheduled to perform.

Seventeen counties comprise the OSBA Southwest Region: Adams, Brown, Butler, Champaign, Clark, Clermont, Clinton, Darke, Greene, Hamilton, Highland, Logan, Miami, Montgomery, Preble, Shelby and Warren. OSBA’s other regions are Central, Northeast, Northwest and Southeast.